Posted in Book Review

Books read in 2016

How many books read in 2016? 17, 142% of my aim, so I’ve vastly increased my goal to 30 books in 2017, I’ve recently rediscovered my love of reading.

Fiction/non-fiction? 15:2, I much prefer reading fiction, though I should probably try more varied non-fiction books. If you have any suggestions, give me a shout.

Male/female authors? 15 women:2 men. Bizarrely the two by men are in my bottom three!

Favourite read? Probably “Behind Closed Doors” by B.A. Paris, had me so gripped I read it in record time (which is even more remarkable because I was at a guide weekend), and I was actually talking about it for days. I also hugely enjoyed “We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart, which the plot twist of I reread about six times to comprehend it; and “The Woman in Cabin 10” by Ruth Ware, which I also couldn’t stop reading because I needed to know what happened.

Least favourite? I’m afraid to say it was “The Colour of Magic” by Terry Pratchett. I’m just not sure I got it at all. Maybe it was too clever for me!

Oldest book read? Also “The Colour of Magic” by Terry Pratchett (by about 20 years!!)

Newest book read? I read two published in 2016 – “The Woman in Cabin 10” by Ruth Ware and “Behind Closed Doors” by B.A. Paris. Strangely, two of my favourites!

Longest book title? “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. (Especially when you include the tagline “Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean my Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun”) One of the ones I enjoyed least.

Shortest book title? “Perfect” By Sara Shepard.

How many rereads? Four – The four Sara Shepard books – from the “Pretty Little Liars” series. I watched a lot of the TV series this year, and wanted to reread the books.

Most books read by a single author? See previous answer – four! The only other author I read more than one book by this year, one is by the author and the other is a pen-name of that author (JK Rowling, Robert Galbraith).

Any in translation? None.

How many books were borrowed from the library? Four, six I already owned, two were borrowed from my parents, one was a free audiobook online, and the remaining four I brought.

Best blog recommendation? I’m afraid I don’t really have any.

I had no clue what was going on: If you mean plot twist wise, the aforementioned “We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart, “The Woman in Cabin 10” by Ruth Ware, as well as “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins. Reading wise, as mentioned I didn’t get “The Colour of Magic” by Terry Pratchett, so I found that hard to follow, the same with the first half of “The Casual Vacancy” by JK Rowling, but I readjusted as the book went on.

Favourite character encountered this year: This is a hard one, I haven’t actually really liked any of the main characters in the books I’ve read other than Cormoran Strike and Robin in Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling), so I suppose them, but I also really loved Millie in “Behind Closed Doors”.

Happy reading in 2017 everyone!

Kayleigh

Author:

I'm a bullet journal junkie.

Leave a Reply

